top of page

Duhaney Park Red Sharks Retain National Club Championship

Updated: Jan 16, 2021

Duhaney Park Red Sharks defeated GC Angels 24-16 to be crowned JRLA National Club Champions for 2019. In so doing, the Red Sharks record streak of Grand Finals win now move to 7.

GC Angels seemed poised for the upset when they led 10-8 at half time. However, the experience of the Sharks showed in second half as they maintained their composure to come back and hit the front with 15 minutes left in the game and they never looked back.

The Red Sharks were led by National player and game MVP Jenson Morris who scored a hat-trick of tries. Half –back Ryan Grant completed the champions scoring with 4 goals.

GC Angels was led by national winger Adrian Thomas who bagged two tries for 8 points, he got support from Dylum Davis with a try and Stephen Scott and Kareem Harris who each kicked a goal.

Winning assistant coach Roy Calvert commented:

“This was another challenging year when we had to do without plenty of senior players, but it was good to see us rise to the challenge and claim another Grand Final win.”

In the Third Place play-off, Washington Blvd. Bulls squeezed out a 6-3 win over the JDF Warriors in what was a defensive slug fest. Orlando Messado got the lone try of the game for the Bulls with Lawrence Drummond kicking a goal. JDF’s three points came from Nicolai Kennedy with a drop-kick and a goal.

14 views0 comments


bottom of page